Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

“I’m from Texas, and Your ‘Liberal Bubble’ Argument is Ridiculous”

leave a comment »

A very interesting Twitter rant by Charles Clymer. The first few tweets:

I need to rant because I’m fucking tired of this “bubble” thing. I doubt many folks are gonna read this because it’s 3 am, but… (thread)

The first thing you should know about me is that I grew up in white poverty in Central Texas. My father is a lifelong car mechanic…

…my mother has worked minimum wage jobs all her life, and my stepfather was junior enlisted in the Army. None of them have…

…a college degree. None of them really stressed the importance of education to me, either. We were dirt poor. We lived in trailer parks…

…all over Central Texas and were on welfare. I have been around “blue collar” folks my whole life. Hell, “blue collar” is a step up…

Read the whole thing. It’s long, it’s impassioned, and it makes good points.

Written by LeisureGuy

9 January 2017 at 1:36 pm

Leave a Reply

