Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Simpson Emperor 3, Colonia shaving soap, 102 slant, and Alt-11 balm

with 4 comments

SOTD 2017-01-10

I thought to use the Simpson Emperor 3 Super because I like the shape of yesterday’s RazoRock handle, which seems to have a similar profile:

Two brushes

Some slight differences, but a similar grip.

The soap is quite good. It loaded easily but the brush was a bit too dry, so I worked in additional water as I lathered my face.

Three passes with the 102 and my face was perfectly smooth with no problems. A squeeze of Phoenix Artisan’s Alt-Eleven balm finished the job. By the time I was dressed, my face felt as dry as if I had used a splash, but somewhat softer. Very nice fragrance in this balm.

Written by LeisureGuy

10 January 2017 at 9:43 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Based on your earlier comments I ordered/received Alt-11 Balm and really do like it. First shave with the X3 this morning, very comfortable.

    Mike

    10 January 2017 at 10:59 am

  2. It does me a world of good to hear that sort of feedback, and even negative reports are appreciated. (Nothing in shaving works for everyone—and I imagine “shaving” could be replaced with any other human activity or practice.)

    If you’ve used other balms, do you also get the impression that Alt-11 balm dries and/or is absorbed relatively quickly? For me it’s not much longer than a splash. Since my main objection to balms is how long they take to dry, I am particularly fond of the Phoenix Artisan balms.

    I’ll use the X3 tomorrow in solidarity. Actually, my choice of the 102 was driven by a guy discussing it with me on WE and the brush choice was because of Wally’s comment about liking the handle of the Italian Flag brush.

    LeisureGuy

    10 January 2017 at 11:18 am

  3. I don’t recall, ever, not liking something I purchased following favorable comments from you. The Alt-11, I agree, does absorb quickly but works. I have not used a balm for a long time, as you, way to long to absorb. I seem to recall that I was fine with GFT Coral Skin Food but I was so disappointed with the last GFT soap I purchased that I swore off GFT?

    I was very impressed with the first shave with the X3, but I do realize that I will need to use it with different blades, soaps and stubble to develop a solid rating.

    Mike

    10 January 2017 at 2:12 pm

  4. Yeah, the “3 T’s” (Trumper, TOBS, and Truefitt & Hill) outsourced the production of their shaving soap and teh subcontractor apparently reformulated—probably the 3 T’s agreeing to a reformulation if it saved money. The result soaps are awful. Floris also reformulated, and the result was so bad that they rereformulated, but by then people are gunshy.

    I’m pleased that my recommendations have worked for you.

    LeisureGuy

    10 January 2017 at 2:38 pm


Leave a Reply

