Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Copper Hat brush, WSP Formula T Tobacco, and the iKon open-comb

with 11 comments

SOTD 2017-01-16

I’ve not used my Wet Shaving Products Formula T soap in a while, and I forgot how nice the lather is. The Tobacco fragrance is pleasant and relatively mild. The brush is from The Copper Hat, a shaving store in Victoria BC, and it has a Delrin® handle: good heft, pleasant feel, nice shape. I recommend WSP Formula T is you’re open to a tallow soap.

The razor today is an iKon open comb that came also with a bar-guard baseplate. I was moved to use the razor because of this post on Wicked Edge, which shows the same model razor (that had the same finish as mine) after it was polished.

It’s a dynamite razor: extremely efficient and very comfortable. I was thinking of selling it, but not now: totally smooth after three passes, no problems at all, and felt good throughout.

A good splash of Cavendish. I notice that my skin feels extremely good: soft and moisturized. I would think that specific feeling is due to the ingredients in the soap and/or aftershave, plus of course the exfoliation from shaving.

Soap ingredients: “stearic acid, water, tallow, coconut oil, potassium hydroxide, glycerin, butyrospermum parkii (Shea butter), fragrance, & sodium hydroxide.” Tallow and shea butter could account for some of the nice feeling. Note that Formula T is available in a 1-oz travel/sample size, which is handy if you want to try several fragrances.

Aftershave ingredients: “Alcohol, Rose Water, Aloe, Glycerin, Alum, Essential/Fragrance Oils.” The rose water, aloe, and glycerin may also have contributed.

I’ll have to try the Formula T with a different aftershave and see whether I get the same feeling of moisturized skin.

Written by LeisureGuy

16 January 2017 at 10:31 am

Posted in Shaving

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have the same head with the B-1 coating. I find it to be mild and forgiving. You post has reminded me to try it with a Feather Blade. Although, lately I have been impressed with the Fatip Gentile which is my current favorite razor among many including high-end stainless offerings. When i have a razor that I look forward to shaving with, I know it is something special.

    Ryan

    16 January 2017 at 10:46 am

  2. Which of the iKon open comb heads to you have? I am interested to try it. There seems to be more than one iKon OC head.

    Craig

    16 January 2017 at 10:53 am

  3. @ Ryan: I also like the Fatip Gentile. I’ll use mine tomorrow. I don’t think of it so frequently as I might because by the time I had purchased it I had a range of favorite razors, so it did not get the attention it would have had it been one of my first razors.

    LeisureGuy

    16 January 2017 at 10:53 am

  4. @ Craig: I’m not sure of the name, in fact. This one’s pretty old and I don’t think he any longer sells uncoated stainless heads (because of the tea-stain issue). The B1 coating protects against tea stains and is also quite tough. On this page you can find the iKon Open-Comb Deluxe, which I think is the same as my open comb, and also the bar-guard baseplate, with both of those having a B1 coating.

    LeisureGuy

    16 January 2017 at 10:57 am

  5. Shaved with the FormlaT this morning for the first time. This is a great soap on all counts,very pleased.

    RonL

    16 January 2017 at 11:01 am

  6. @ RonL: Didd you also note that your skin felt better after the shave, when you rubbed your fingers over the shaved area?

    LeisureGuy

    16 January 2017 at 11:06 am

  7. I will shave with the soap again tomorrow, yes, my skin felt better,smoother ,zero irritation
    and a BBS shave.

    RonL

    16 January 2017 at 5:37 pm

  8. I’ve really liked the assumption I’ve had of how that brush handle feels, since I first saw you posting about it. My childhood house had a solid black telephone mounted on the wall – I assume it was some early type of plastic, but I’m not sure. Anyhow, the look of that brush handle reminds me of it – a fond memory. I’ll have to do some internet researching into that phone.

    RuggerRigger

    16 January 2017 at 6:33 pm

  9. It seems that a resin plastic is the common choice for synthetic handles, but I think Delrin is very interesting—and God knows it’s tough: they make gears from it.

    LeisureGuy

    16 January 2017 at 6:47 pm

  10. Regarding my earlier question, I visited the page you referenced — which I had also seen prior. What do you think about the item on said page labeled “Short Comb Head?”

    Craig

    16 January 2017 at 9:07 pm

  11. The Short-Comb Head is one of the Shavecraft line, in which the heads are cast aluminum alloy. I have the Short-Comb; I’ll use it Wednesday to refresh my memory, but it was very comfortable and very efficient.

    LeisureGuy

    16 January 2017 at 9:50 pm


Leave a Reply

