Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Omega Pro 48, Tcheon Fung Sing, Dorco PL602, and Stirling Lemon Chill

with 8 comments

2017-02-22

Although some find the Omega Pro 48 (10048) boar brush too large for face lathering, it has never seemed a problem for me. This brush is now well broken in and does a really fine job.

Tcheon Fung Sing, an artisanal shaving soap from Italy, is quite good: a very slick and dense lather with a light and pleasant fragrance, in this case Tobacco Verde. There seems to have been a change and the soaps now are identified as Linea Intenso and the fragrance is given as Tobacco Verde Forte, so presumably now the fragrance is stronger, which would not be bad. The soap is $22 from West Coast Shaving and $10 from Italian Barber, FWIW.

The ingredients are simple: Stearic Acid, Aqua, Cocos Nucifera, Potassium Hydroxide, Sodium Hydroxide ,Parfum—purely a coconut oil shaving soap (and thus vegan), but it does a good job. You can get 1kg (2.2 lbs) for €9.92 (US$10.60) in the traditional almond fragrance Italians seem to favor. The price shown is excluding tax, which you would not have to pay if ordering from the US.

And speaking of fantastic bargains, the Dorco PL602 is in the first rank of my razors in terms of comfort and efficiency, and it’s less than $5 including shipping. (Shop on eBay for best price.) I easily got a quite comfortable and trouble-free BBS result.

A splash of Stirling Soap Company’s Lemon Chill, and the shave is done and the day begun. The aftershave ingredients: Denatured Alcohol, Witch Hazel, Lemon Essential Oil, Aloe, Menthol, Glycerin, and Hydrovance (a moisturizing agent).

Written by LeisureGuy

22 February 2017 at 10:02 am

Posted in Shaving

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i agree with you on the Dorco and its performance but each time I use it it leaves something to be desired in term of enjoyment. The razor is too light. But for a travel razor it would be tough to mach.

    reynald p

    22 February 2017 at 11:37 am

  2. I have a few brushes with very soft and fluffy knots and when I first tried them I didn’t like them. But then it occurred to me that I should attempt to enjoy the brush for what it is rather than viewing it through the lens of my preference. Once I sort of accepted the nature of the brush and tried to get the best from it, I found I actually enjoyed those brushes and in part for their difference from my other brushes. But then I like variety, and that does involve differences. For me the key was to enjoy the differences.

    In the case of razors, my attention is most closely focused on the feel/comfort and the performance/efficiency, and if those are top-notch (which certainly is true for me with the Dorco), then I like the razor and take the weight as given. This dates back quite a way, to the Merkur vintage white bakelite slant. At first I wanted it to be heavier, but then since the feel and performance were excellent, I decided to enjoy the light weight as a change of pace.

    Much the same is true of the Dorco: the light weight is for me a pleasant change since the feel and performance are still extremely high quality.

    But personal preferences vary, and some don’t put quite so much weight as I on the feel and performance—or rather, they like excellent feel and performance but in addition they want more beyond that: weight is one example, but also aesthetics, material (some really want stainless steel, for example). My own values weight feel and performance so much the other aspects are just interesting variety.

    Truly, shaving teaches us YMMV. 🙂

    LeisureGuy

    22 February 2017 at 12:18 pm

  3. This blog first turned me onto the PL602, and it’s performed extremely well with just about every brand of blade I’ve tried. For some reason, it reduces the variance between blade performance that I experience with some other razors. Clearly a YMMV experience, but of my ultra-light razors (including bakelite-style slants), it’s just about my favorite.

    optimizer64

    22 February 2017 at 6:01 pm

  4. One thing I’ve notice is the extreme curvature of the blade in the Dorco PL602, similar to that in the RazoRock Baby Smooth. I think some of its excellence is due to that.

    LeisureGuy

    22 February 2017 at 6:48 pm

  5. I used to find the Omega Pro 48 too big at first with soap going everywhere (and some even on my face). But since last year it seems to be marvelous – good lather and easy to apply. So glad I persevered.

    Mark

    23 February 2017 at 3:02 am

  6. I imagine some of the change is the brush breaking in and some is in learning better how to use it. I noticed that I used to make a big mess in loading the brush, but over time as I became more practiced and thus more skillful I was able to load the brush neatly and easily even if the soap comes to the brim of the tub (as for Martin de Candre soap). “Practice makes perfect.”

    LeisureGuy

    23 February 2017 at 4:39 am

  7. Just received the Dorco and used it the last two mornings. It’s really really mild compared to the iKon 102, which is my usual razor. So mild that it missed a lot of my beard on my ATG pass. On the plus side, it’s almost like shaving without a blade. It seems like it would be very difficult for it to cut me. I’ll have to experiment with loosening the handle a 1/4 turn to increase the aggressiveness. I actually like the lightness of the razor, and it does appears to be very high quality for being made of plastic.

    wvu_sam

    25 February 2017 at 8:10 am

  8. The adjustability (using the same approach used by the Progress) is good, but also try 3-4 different brands of blades. A brand that works well in one razor may not in another.

    LeisureGuy

    25 February 2017 at 8:37 am


Leave a Reply

