Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

RazoRock Zi’ Peppino and the Rockwell 6S R4

with 2 comments

SOTD 2017-02-25

The Italian flag synthetic brush shown, from Italian Barber, is just a little large for me (24mm instead of my preferred 20-22mm), but quite workable and luxurious feeling. It easily produced a fine lather from RazoRock Zi’ Peppino shaving soap, fragrant and thick. (I did, of course, give the brush two good shakes before starting to load: synthetic brushes hold more water than one would think.)

The Rockwell 6S system is a fine razor, comfortable and efficient with all 6 baseplate “settings” (two per double-sided baseplate). It’s a very good razor for the long term since (a) it’s quite well made, (b) it’s stainless steel, and (c) the various “settings” (R1 through R6) allow you to accommodate your current preference. (Preferences change over time, quite apart from perhaps needing to take down a week’s growth at some point.) Three passes, perfectly smooth, no problems.

A good splash of Zi’ Peppino aftershave and the weekend is now officially underway in this apartment.

Written by LeisureGuy

25 February 2017 at 9:36 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi.

    My name is white Bakelite Italian slant and I feel very neglected. I used to be your favorite, but as usually life goes, you forgotten me over younger model. Several younger models… Ugh.

    Chrom

    26 February 2017 at 10:22 am

  2. LOL. I hear you, and I’ll take you for a spin tomorrow. I have to admit that I was seduced by the somewhat greater comfort (for me) of the 102 and X3—the Merkur white bakelite slant has noticeably more blade feel, though it is still comfortable—but I’m sure I’ll enjoy the reunion with an old friend.

    LeisureGuy

    26 February 2017 at 10:34 am


Leave a Reply

