Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Baked mustard chicken

with 2 comments

I made this recipe last night and it was extremely tasty. I made a half-recipe (one chicken, not two) and it was reasonably easy.

I spatchcocked the chicken, which makes it easy to halve, and then to cut each half into a leg piece (drumstick and thigh) and the breast piece (with wing) is simply. I take the spine (removed in spatchcocking the chicken), wing tips, and neck (included when you buy a whole chicken) and simmered those in a quart of water to which I added salt, a dozen peppercorns, and the juice of two lemons. After simmering for an hour or so, I strain the resulting stock, which makes a very pleasant afternoon treat.

Some changes to the recipe, based on experience—the amounts shown are for the full (2-chicken) recipe; cut in half for 1 chicken

  • 1 cup Dijon mustard, not 3/4 cup – and be sure you dry the chicken well after rinsing, or the mustard mixture won’t stick
  • 4 cloves garlic, not 1, and after mincing it I put it and a good pinch of salt into my mortar & pestle and smashed it to a pulp
  • Panko bread crumbs are what I used

That mortar & pestle at the link is the first I’ve found that actually works well. I have the 5.5″ model; Williams-Sonoma sells the same thing in a 7″ model.

I lined the baking sheet with parchment paper, which worked well. I use flat pre-cut sheets rather than from a roll (because parchment paper from a roll doesn’t lie flat very well)

I download recipes into Paprika Recipe Manager so I can edit them (as in the changes above), and I added a note at the beginning of the instructions: “DON’T forget paprika and butter” (because after I had put the chicken into the oven I realized I had forgotten the last step, and the butter in particular makes a difference—no harm done: it had been in the oven only about 5 minutes when I remembered, took it out, and did that final step).

Two hours worked, but I think next time I’ll try 1.5 hours and see how that goes. Even with two hours cooking, the chicken was quite moist (and incredibly tender), probably because of the crust.

We’ll be having this again.

Written by LeisureGuy

28 February 2017 at 10:11 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It would have been really good if you could add a picture too 🙂

    Gopi

    28 February 2017 at 5:13 pm

  2. There’s a photo at the link, but you’re right: I should have taken a photo of the dish I cooked. However, by the time it came out of the oven, we were ravenous. 🙂

    I’ll take a photo next time, but it looked a lot like the photo at the link.

    LeisureGuy

    28 February 2017 at 5:25 pm


Leave a Reply

