Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

A great shave with old stand-bys: Omega S-Brush, Otoko Organics, and the Maggard V2 open-comb

with 4 comments

SOTD 2017-03-02

Otoko Organic is an unusual shaving “soap,” in that it’s not actually a soap. I really like it—it makes an interesting stiffish lather and the fragrance (mostly, I think, from the pear extract that is one of its ingredients) is extremely nice. I find it quite easy to lather and pleasant to use, but apparently some have had difficulty in lathering it (possibly the result of one bad batch), so it sort of fell from my rotation. However, I saw it yesterday and realized that, regardless of the experience of others, it works like a charm for me (and in fact I completely used up one tub, something I don’t often do). So this morning I brought it out again, and with the Omega S10005 I instantly got a fine lather and enjoyed working it into the stubble, inhaling the fragrance with pleasure.

From the Otoko Organics site:

Made from 100% organically grown natural coconut, palm, soy, and jojoba oil with aloe vera and pear essence, Otoko Organics contain only cold pressed organically grown plant extracts and the highest quality plant essences.

Otoko Organics Wet Shave Essentials provides a certified organic way to deeply clean and soften your skin while lifting and softening your hair follicles before shaving.

I ordered directly from the maker, and I still have two tubs. (It’s better to order a few tubs to reduce postage cost per tub.) And after this morning’s great shave, I’m bringing it back into rotation. It seems to be something that’s not for everyone, but it works very well indeed for me.

The Maggard V2 open-comb head is a clone of the Parker 24C/26C, and the Maggard MR7 handle is noticeably better than the Parker handles and the Maggard head and handle together are the same price as the Parker pair, so if you’re in the US I would recommend the Maggard version shown.

It’s quite comfortable and very efficient, though this morning a little less efficient and I had to do a little blade buffing to get the smoothness I like. So I changed the blade after the shave.

A good splash of Fine’s Fresh Vetiver aftershave, and the day is launched.

Written by LeisureGuy

2 March 2017 at 10:04 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How does the V2OC compare to the Testina Gentile ?

    Larry

    2 March 2017 at 5:12 pm

  2. Well, they’re both very comfortable and very efficient, but some difference in feel. I’d have to do a side-by-side to get a good comparison.

    LeisureGuy

    2 March 2017 at 5:29 pm

  3. Michael, it turns out I had some of the Otoko “bad batch” and when Alex sent me a new one for no cost, it performed exactly as you indicate. It’s now one of my favorites.

    optimizer64

    4 March 2017 at 2:40 pm

  4. I’m very pleased to hear that, and thank you for writing the comment. One reason I’ve not been using it is that I felt that I let a lot of people down somehow. But I do really like the soap, and it’s now going back into my regular rotation. And it does have a unique (and pleasant) fragrance.

    LeisureGuy

    4 March 2017 at 2:54 pm


Leave a Reply

