Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Sam Sifton’s Picadillo

leave a comment »

And right after that previous post. I made this recipe tonight. My notes:

I tried to substitute dried salami for dried chorizo to save a trip to Whole Foods. It did not work. Use dried chorizo, although I use 5 oz, not 2 oz.

I use 8 cloves garlic: you must let minced or crushed garlic sit 15 minutes before cooking (to preserve nutrients that would otherwise be destroyed by heat), so peeling garlic and mincing it is the first step in the recipe.

I use ground beef that was 80% lean. I think next time I will go with 85% lean if they have it, or 90% lean if they don’t.

I used canned whole San Marzano tomatoes, 28 oz can. Don’t forget to DRAIN the tomatoes. I did.

I used plain raisins, not Sultanas.

Olive should be salad olives, which are small.

Very tasty dish. No rice: low-carb.

Written by LeisureGuy

6 March 2017 at 7:05 pm

Leave a Reply

