Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Maggard 22mm synthetic, Antica Barbieria Colla, and the ATT S1

with 2 comments

My ABC soap has reached its final resting place, as it were. The apothecary mug was just too big and actually awkward to use. Maggard Razors has these very nice empty tubs for $1.75 each. The 4-oz size turned out to be exactly right. Of course, I hacked up the soap to get it into the apothecary mug, then I had to hack it out, and press it into this tub, hacking off the bits that were too tall. Much hacking and hewing…

But the nice thing about soap, in small pieces it’s still the same soap. So you press it together with your fingers as best you can, and the water left when you load the brush welds it together. As I noted before, I got the puck for €33 directly from ABC’s own website. And they’re selling it now for €26.40. I really like it. And if you get it, pick up a few of the Maggard tubs, one for now, others for future use.

I got a very fine lather indeed—this is a good soap—and this time the almond fragrance came through clearly, for whatever reason. It’s a reassuring fragrance, somehow.

The shave was as smooth as silk. The S1 is right up there, close to if not with, the 102 and X3 (but keep in mind razors have a fair amount of YMMV).

A small dot of the ABC’s Tobacco Verde aftershave milk.

Sorry of the late posting. Cleaning lady here to day and threw me off schedule.

Written by LeisureGuy

15 March 2017 at 3:03 pm

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael, are you saying that a new/unmolested puck would fit directly into the Maggard tub? I just purchased one and now need to choose a tub. It’s either this one, or Maggard, Stirling, or MW.

    Alex

    16 March 2017 at 12:05 pm

  2. Unfortunately, by the time I got this tub, the puck had already been hacked quite a bit. The Maggard tub is a nice fit. I have some other tubs that have a double bottom with a little space between the inner and outer bottom, which I don’t like The Maggard tub is a straightforward, well made, single bottom, inexpensive tub, so I like it. And as you see, the puck does fit, but I don’t know whether any trimming is required.

    LeisureGuy

    16 March 2017 at 12:52 pm


Leave a Reply

