Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Vie-Long and Meißner Tremonia Lavender de Luxe, then the Progress and Chatillon Lux

with 7 comments

The Vie-Long horsehair brush shown did an excellent job of bringing lather from Meißner Tremonia’s excellent Lavender de Luxe, and it does have a great fragrance.

I must have just changed the blade in the Progress: the feeling during the shave was an extreme smoothness, gliding over my face with no problems, just wiping away the stubble.

A splash of Chatillon Lux’s Champs de Lavande, and I’m refreshed and ready for the day.

Written by LeisureGuy

23 March 2017 at 9:12 am

Posted in Shaving

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love that Vie Long. I have the Zurrito blanco which has the same handle, but a 50/50 mix in the knot. I like 🐴 brushes. I have a 12601 too

    From reviews I have seen the Progress is a superior built razor compared to the Variant. I’m considering buying one. Waiting on Model T first

    Larry

    23 March 2017 at 9:53 am

  2. I’m a Model T backer, and when I get it, I’ll compare it and the Progress.

    LeisureGuy

    23 March 2017 at 10:00 am

  3. I’m also a Model T backer but have been more than a little concerned about Rockwell’s planned design change that would see a Zamak head on the Model T in place of the originally spec’d all brass construction.

    Owen

    23 March 2017 at 11:00 am

  4. I had not heard of that. I see that as a serious downgrade in quality, and I have to say that I’m no longer interested in the razor. That was not what was advertised. It feels an awful lot like bait-and-switch.

    LeisureGuy

    23 March 2017 at 12:42 pm

  5. I’m out. My 37c is Zamak and has served me well but I have had a bad experience with my 26c. Not a Parker fan.

    Larry

    23 March 2017 at 2:05 pm

  6. Rockwell’s February Update explains reasoning behind switch to Zamak as: “In full production, we found that the tolerances of the cast brass doors would not hold our tight tolerance requirements. Therefore, we have made some changes, notably upgrading the internal components to stainless steel, and adjusting some of the “head” components to precision cast zinc alloy.”

    This pronouncement has been met with a lot of critical commentary.

    Link to update: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/rockwellrazors/rockwell-model-t-razor-and-razor-blades-shaving-pe/posts/1828937

    Owen

    23 March 2017 at 2:08 pm

  7. Many thanks for the link, Owen. I commented.

    LeisureGuy

    23 March 2017 at 3:14 pm


Leave a Reply

