Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Simpson Emperor 3, Phoenix Artisan Alt-Eleven, and the new RazoRock Baby Smooth

with 4 comments

The Simpson Emperor is a favorite, though I notice I tend to pick one of my synthetics more often. Still this is a great brush, and the lather from Phoenix Artisan’s kokum butter shave soaps is excellent. Alt-Eleven has a great frangrance, and these soaps always make my skin feel good.

The RazoRock Baby Smooth is a truly wonderful razor. This one is destined for one of my grandsons next month (his birthday, and he’s just started shaving), but I certainly will keep my other Baby Smooth, from the first run. So far as feel and performance, this one and the original are alike, though there are some small differences in the handle.

A tiny dot of Alt-Eleven aftershave balm, and the day is launched. This is a quick-drying balm with a pleasant effect.

Written by LeisureGuy

28 March 2017 at 9:32 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I find that no matter which blade I use I feel a slight “drag” or resistance when shaving with the RazoRock Baby Smooth. It seems to be caused by the coating on the razor itself as it contacts the skin rather than the blade cutting. It is not present with any of my other razors. Not a problem. More of an observation.

    Owen

    28 March 2017 at 9:59 am

  2. I haven’t notice that myself on the Baby Smooth, but I did note something similar on the original Weber with the DLC coating: a kind of smooth pull. I’ll pay closer attention next time to see whether I note it on the Baby Smooth.

    LeisureGuy

    28 March 2017 at 10:42 am

  3. I was lucky enough to get the latest incarnation of the RR Baby Smooth. I initially tried it with my favorite blade, Polsilver SI, and found it exceedingly mild. However, I have been getting good shaves with it and Derby Extra Blades, and I got a great shave with it today with Derby Premium Blades trying them for the first time. It would be a great razor for a young man just starting out, or a newbie of any age. Too bad they aren’t produced in larger quantities.

    Ryan

    28 March 2017 at 2:42 pm

  4. Per Owen, I have noticed the same thing! I have one of the very first run of BBS, and I have always thought to myself that this feeling of drag/friction from the top cap detracts somewhat from the pleasure if not the performance of the shave. It is definitely the black anodizing IMHO that causes this, combined with the fact that the BBS design is such that you feel more of the top cap on your skin when using the razor at the correct angle.

    I am actually considering getting the razor head coated by Delta Echo to see if it would feel better. In other words, making the BabySmooth smoother. 😉

    Alex

    29 March 2017 at 8:44 am


Leave a Reply

