Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Rooney Style 3, Meißner Tremonia Pink Grapefruit, Rockwell R4, and Floris 89

with 3 comments

My Rockwell Style 3 Size 1 is, like it Rooney Size 1 brothers, a great little brush. I really like the loft of these, which is longer than some of my brushes and thus feels softer (and has greater lather capacity). Meißner Tremonia’s Pink Grapefruit is, as you see on the label, augmented with eucalyptus, which changes the fragrance noticeably, removing any sweetness.

The lather was extremely good today, and MT’s shaving paste formulation works extremely well for me. It’s soft but not goopy, so you can easily load the brush by treating it as a soft soap (which is what it amounts to).

Three passes with the Rockwell R4 gave a totally smooth result with no nicks or problems. I picked Floris 89 as also have a citrus aspect with no sweetness:

Top notes: bergamot, lavender, neroli, nutmeg, orange, petitgrain
Heart notes: geranium, rose, ylang ylang
Base notes: cedarwood, musk, oakmoss, sandalwood, vetiver

I really like this one.

Written by LeisureGuy

31 March 2017 at 9:14 am

Posted in Shaving

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have been revisiting a stash of 200 or so Derby Extra Blades that I acquired several years ago before I knew better. Later, I bought into the group think, on the forums, that Derby was a “bad” blade, so I moved on to other brands. Here lately though, I find that they shine in mild razors, which tones down the harshness, such as the RR Baby Smooth, Feather AS-D2, and the Rockwell 6s on R2. Versatility is the beauty of the Rockwell 6s.

    Ryan

    31 March 2017 at 9:51 am

  2. I recently discovered the same. Having bought into the notion that Derby blades were sub-par, I left them in the back of the drawer while I stuck with Feathers and Astras (both work for me in most of my razors). Out of curiosity, and because of a comment in an earlier posting, I gave the Derbys a try in my RR Baby Smooth. Completely changed the shaving experience – for the better. The Baby Smooth + Derby combination works wonderfully for me.

    Owen

    31 March 2017 at 11:49 am

  3. Derbys were very highly rated when I did a poll of various brands a few years ago. See this post.

    LeisureGuy

    31 March 2017 at 12:03 pm


Leave a Reply

