Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

VPNs and I: Venturing into a new territory

leave a comment »

I first came across “How to set up a VPN in 10 minutes for free (and why you urgently need one),” by Quincy Larson (republished by Quartz with a different title). As a result, I’m now using Opera as my default browser, since you can just turn on VPN in the browser.

That caused me to have to convince various sites (Amazon, Netflix, etc.) that I am really who I say I am, generally with an email verification step (all to the good). It also resulted in my Google searches being in Dutch, since my VPN site was in the Netherlands. Opera picks the most efficient site, but you can specify the country you want, and once I specified the U.S., Google switched to English for its own messages.

Opera is as far as I’ve gone, but in time I will explore further. I’ve already learned that Netflix doesn’t like to connect to VPNs, but since I watch through my Amazon Fire Stick, that’s not been a problem.

Two other articles to note:

The Motherboard Guide to VPNs,” by Lorenzo Franceschi-Bicchierai in Motherboard.

Using a VPN Sucks,” by Jason Koebler in Motherboard, with the subtitle “The problem isn’t just that VPNs aren’t great, it’s that Republicans have broken the damn internet.”

 

Written by LeisureGuy

1 April 2017 at 9:49 am

Leave a Reply

