Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Derby blades do their magic in the iKon DLC slant, with Martin de Candre and H.L. Thäter

with 6 comments

Another big win for the Derby blade! But first, the prep: I used my other H.L. Thäter brush this morning. I knew that one had not worked (seemed oily) and so I had shampooed it. I thought that was the one I used yesterday, which worked fine, but I got to thinking it might have been this one, which I used today to determine whether it also worked.

Martin de Candre is a very nice shaving soap, and the brush worked perfectly, so my fix (shampooing the brush) worked, or else this was the brush that didn’t need the fix. It really was a fine lather.

The iKon DLC slant, which is the same as the current B1 slant, just with a different coating, has always had a slight tendency to nick me in the XTG pass, so I tried the Derby blade remedy. That worked perfectly, and it took this slant right off the “to be sold” deck: a really fantastic and very easy shave, totally comfortable, with no nicks and a BBS finish. Somehow I didn’t think to try Derby blades earlier.

Three passes to a wonderful result, then a little dot of Hermès Eau d’Orange Verte, a very pleasant moisturizing cream.

What a great way to start the day!

Written by LeisureGuy

6 April 2017 at 9:29 am

Posted in Shaving

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael, can you let me know exactly which Derby blade you’re using as there are several varieties here in the UK. Hope you’re well. Regards Tony

    Tony The Blade

    6 April 2017 at 12:04 pm

  2. I used Derby Extra blades. I did a search on Amazon.co.uk and observe that they cost twice as much as at the link. They’re about half as much from Connaught Shaving.

    LeisureGuy

    6 April 2017 at 1:26 pm

  3. Thanks Michael, I’ve used ordinary Derby blades and discounted them a couple of years ago. I’ll try them again next week I’ve also found a box of Derby Extra in my discarded box which must have come with one of my razors.Having seen the name and thought they would be similar I’ve never opened the box and tried them, again they’re out for a trial next week also.

    Tony The Blade

    6 April 2017 at 10:30 pm

  4. On closer inspection they both appear to be Derby Extra but one box is green and the other is blue, described as new blade technology maybe clever marketing or indeed different blades well see next week. Derby also do a Premium brand I’ve noticed at Connaught Shaving.

    Tony The Blade

    6 April 2017 at 10:40 pm

  5. Hi Michael,

    I was about to sell my iKon DLC slant because of nick issues(owned for 4 years). Thanks for the Derby comments. For me the iKon DLC slant is machine at cutting stubble but it nicks even with a light touch.

    Shawn

    7 April 2017 at 5:39 am

  6. @ Tony: Edwin Jagger provides a pack of Derby Extra blades with each of their razors.

    @ Shawn: I’m very pleased with the effect, so much so that I’m using the iKon DLC again this morning. 🙂 I’ll report on how it works.

    LeisureGuy

    7 April 2017 at 6:56 am


Leave a Reply

