Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Publication order of book series

leave a comment » is a good site for those who are compulsive about reading an author’s work chronologically and is even helpful (but not always accurate) when you want to read a series in order by the chronology of the story. Sometimes the chronology of publication matches the chronology of the story (e.g., in the wonderful Jack Aubrey/Stephen Maturin series of British Naval novels by Patrick O’Brian), but sometimes (as I explain in this post) the publication order is not the same as the story order: in Charles McCarry‘s series of Paul Christopher novels, The Secret Loves (1977) recounts events that precede The Tears of Autumn (1974) and thus should (IMO) be read after The Miernik Dossier (1973) and before The Tears of Autumn.

But that sort of nonsequential publication is relatively rare, so on the whole is a handy reference. The links above go to the author pages on that site.

Written by LeisureGuy

9 April 2017 at 10:03 am

Posted in Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.