Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

New Forest and Nancy Boy, Gillette NEW and TOBS Shaving Shop

with 2 comments

My tub of Nancy Boy shaving cream is almost empty, and I think this is one that I’ll replace. If you’ve not tried it, I highly recommend it, and they do see a travel size. My favorite is the Signature fragrance, which (oddly) the site does not describe, but is a mint and rosemary fragrance near as I can tell. Ingredients:

Distilled water, potassium stearate, sodium myristate, sodium stearate, glycerin, coconut oil, essential oil fragance, organic aloe leaf juice, avocado oil, allantoin, pistachio nut oil, extracts of yarrow, burdock, calendula, chamomile, bitter orange, sea kelp, elder flower, comfrey and cucumber, methyl gluceth-20, polyquaternium-7, sorbic acid, hydroxyethylcellulose, vitamin E.

I got the usual excellent lather with my New Forest brush and set to work with the Gillette NEW. I got one odd flat-face nick (not a bad one, but still….), and I see that this razor has the blade much flatter than, say, the Dorco PL602 or the RazoRock Baby Smooth, both of which never nick. I imagine that a blade mounted fairly flat will require more attention to angle than with a well-curved blade.

Three passes delivered a fine result, and a splash of TOBS Shave Shop finished the job.

Update: It turns out that Nancy Boy describes all their fragrances on a separate page. Here’s the Signature fragrance:

French lavender is blended with Washington peppermint and Tunisian rosemary.

Written by LeisureGuy

15 April 2017 at 11:20 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s interesting. Michael Freedberg admitted he liked razors that curved the blade more than usual in one of his videos. (I believe it was one of his videos discussing the Parker 24C; he had to adjust his angle more to get a comfortable shave with it than for most razors.) In any case, I’d say there’s probably something to it.

    Damon

    15 April 2017 at 4:15 pm

  2. That was one thing I didn’t like about the Pils: the blade came out horizontally.

    LeisureGuy

    15 April 2017 at 5:08 pm


Leave a Reply

