Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Mr Pomp and Phoenix Artisan Honeysuckle, iKon 102, and Phoenix Artisan Cavendish aftershave

with 8 comments

Phoenix Artisan Accoutrements Honeysuckle shaving soap leaves my skin feeling exceptionally soft and pleasant—plus the lather is excellent, which today I worked up using my Mr Pomp brush. I assume the skin effect of the soap is due to its ingredients:

Potassium Stearate, Glycerin, Potassium Cocoate, Aqua, Potassium Kokumate, Sodium Lactate, Potassium Shea Butterate, Potassium Castorate, Sodium Stearate, Potassium Avocadoate, Parfum [Fragrance]

Coconut oil, kokum butter, shea butter, castor oil, and avocado oil: yeah, that might account for the nice effect on my skin.

And the resulting prep is exceptionally good, it seems to me. With the iKon 102, perhaps my favorite slant, I had no trouble at all during the shave and the result was a very easy BBS. Some have found that the 102 tends to clog, but I’ve realized that this problem seems to occur for me who shave only once every week or two. Those who shave every day or every other day don’t encounter that problem, so far as I can tell.

A good splash of Phoenix Artisan Cavendish, whose fragrance is long-lasting, and I’m ready for the day.

Written by LeisureGuy

19 April 2017 at 9:31 am

Posted in Shaving

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Michael,

    I just wanted to thank you for the iKon DLC slant Derby blade recommendation. I tried Derby blades years ago with result feeling dull(nicks) with a new blades. I never would have used them again if I had not see your post. Wow, it’s like I got a whole new razor using Derby’s in the DLC(no nicks no irration great shave).

    Thanks.

    Shawn

    20 April 2017 at 4:55 am

  2. Hi,

    I have a Weber polished head razor similar to your Weber DLC. What blade names do you like for the Weber?

    Thanks again.

    Shawn

    20 April 2017 at 6:34 am

  3. Yeah, blades can vary a lot in performance from brand to brand (that’s easy to understand) but the same brand can vary a lot from razor to razor (and that’s the one that’s harder to remember). If a brand is not very good in one razor, it’s hard to accept that it might be excellent in another, so I just hadn’t tried Derby Extras in my slants because in a conventional razor they tend to be tuggy for me. So I, too, was surprised and pleased at how well they worked in a couple of “problem” slants.

    I think a slant changes how a given brand performs by a fair amount: blades that are nice and sharp in a conventional razor can be very nicky in a slant (lots of small cuts), and blades that are dull in a conventional razor can perform well—as though they are sharper—in a slant. That at least is the story for e with Derby Extra.

    I also had a polished head Weber. For me, the Personna Lab Blue is good in that, as are Astra Superior Platinums and Gillette 7 O’Clock SharpEdge and Gillette Silver Blues. Kai blades, which are great for me in many razors, were horribly harsh in the Weber (to my surprise). YMMV, of course.

    LeisureGuy

    20 April 2017 at 7:24 am

  4. I have a Utopia Care razor and would like to try a slant head. Back in 2014 you recommended the #102 head with the Utopia Care handle. Would you still recommend that combination, or should I try the X3 head? Thanks.

    John Perry

    20 April 2017 at 7:37 am

  5. For me, the 102 and X3 feel and perform very much the same. As I noted, the 102 apparently will clog somewhat if the stubble is long, and the X3 doesn’t seem to do that. Also, the X3 is $5 cheaper ($35 for the X3 head, $40 for the 102 head), so you might go with the X3. But I do love the 102 and have never had a problem with it.

    That’s not terribly helpful, I know. But I think you’ll like whichever one you pick.

    LeisureGuy

    20 April 2017 at 7:43 am

  6. Thank you for the comments regarding slant vs. conventional blade feel. Your comments are so true. Japanese blades(Feather/Kai) would eat me face in the DLC slant, but Kai blades are working(for me) with Wolfman DC razor. I will try the other blades you mentioned. Thank you for reply.

    Shawn

    20 April 2017 at 8:28 am

  7. Happy to be of help.

    LeisureGuy

    20 April 2017 at 8:34 am

  8. I can only get one good shave out of a Derby blade in most razors, but I get 2 comfortable shaves from a Derby in a slant razor. If that doesn’t validate the slant I don’t know what does.

    Larry

    20 April 2017 at 9:20 am


Leave a Reply

