Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Italian-oriented shave: Zi’ Peppino and the Fatip Testina Gentile

with 5 comments

Zi’ Peppino’s green-tobacco fragrance has a real barbershop smell to my nose, and the lather is really excellent. The ingredients:

Stearic Acid, Aqua(Water/Eau), Cocus Nucifera(Coconut) Oil, Potassium Hydroxide, Sodium Hydroxide, Fragrance(Parfum), Sodium Carbonate, Alpha Isomethyl Ionone, Benzyl Benzoate, Buthylphenyl Methylpropional, Citronellol, Coumarin, Eugenol, Geraniol, Hexyl Cinnamal, Hydrocitronellal, Limonene, Linalool, Evernia Furfuracea Extract.

That looks to my eye more like a commercial soap formulation than the usual artisan soap, but I do like fragrance and lather—and right now it’s selling at $4/tub, which is a very good deal.

In keeping with the Italian theme, I used RazoRock’s synthetic brush with the Italian-flag handle. The knot is a trifle larger than I prefer, but quite acceptable.

The Fatip Testina Gentile is really a fine razor: very comfortable, very efficient. Three passes produced a trouble-free BBS result, and a good splash of Zi’ Peppino aftershave finished the job. It’s $8 at the link, and the ingredients again look like a commercial rather than artisan product:

Alcohol Denat, Aqua (Water/Eau), Parfum (Fragrance), Polysorbate 20, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Menthol, Dimethicolne Copolyol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Alpha Isomethyl Ionone, Benzyl Benzoate, Buthylphenyl Methylpropional, Citronellol, Coumarin, Eugenol, Geraniol, Hexyl Cinnamal, Hydrocitronellal, Limonene, Linalool, Evernia Furfuracea Extract.

Still, both soap and aftershave are quite nice.

Written by LeisureGuy

20 April 2017 at 9:45 am

Posted in Shaving

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I ordered that razor in the gold finish. Some folks complain about blade alignment issues but you don’t seem to have any so I’ll bite.

    Larry

    20 April 2017 at 11:04 am

  2. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it.

    LeisureGuy

    20 April 2017 at 11:08 am

  3. One shave in. There certainly is blade play but using the exposed tabs the alignment can be trued up. My 37 c requires it too and it’s in my rotation so it doesn’t deter me

    It gives me a shave as close as The Standard with less blade feel. Delivered a comfortable BBS and looks handsome as well. A keeper!

    Larry

    23 April 2017 at 5:37 am

  4. I just got a Fatip Gentile myself, a couple of weeks ago. A very nice razor.

    mantic59mantic59

    25 April 2017 at 10:27 am

  5. I agree. I’m very pleased with comfort, efficiency, heft, material (plated brass), and workmanship. My son has three little boys and I’ve purchased three of the Testina Gentiles for them: chrome, gold, and black chrome. (They’re all under 5 years of age, so I’ll save them for a while…)

    LeisureGuy

    25 April 2017 at 12:02 pm


Leave a Reply

