Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Wee Scot and Yardley, iKon DLC slant and Floris 89

with 5 comments

The Wee Scot has been a very nice brush indeed, and this morning it had no trouble working up a fine lather from my vintage Yardley shaving soap, holding plenty for three passes.

The Derby Extra blade continues its magic in the iKon DLC slant, a razor that persistently nicked me even with the Personna Lab Blue blades I favor in other razors. The Lab Blues just don’t work so well for me in this razor, but the Derby Extras work fine. The handle is by Wolfman Razors.

A good splash of Floris 89 aftershave, and the week is launched.

Written by LeisureGuy

1 May 2017 at 8:50 am

Posted in Shaving

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wonder if a Derby could tame an R41?

    Larry

    1 May 2017 at 10:00 am

  2. Interesting question. Now I wish I had tried it.

    LeisureGuy

    1 May 2017 at 10:04 am

  3. Although I prefer larger brushed I have always been intrigued by the Wee Scott. I think it is time make a move and get one!

    Mike

    1 May 2017 at 1:40 pm

  4. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it. FWIW, I got mine some years prior to Vulfix’s acquisition of Simpson.

    The theory was that the badger hair used in the Wee Scot was extra fine, and thus with the relatively dense knot, the surface area of the knot (surface area of each bristle, all added up) was pretty large, and that big a wetted surface can hold a lot of soap and lather. Whatever. It does hold plenty of lather for my shaves, at any rate, if I load the knot well.

    LeisureGuy

    1 May 2017 at 1:51 pm

  5. I will let you know.

    Mike

    1 May 2017 at 2:02 pm


Leave a Reply

