Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Fine Classic and Tallow + Steel Grog, with the Baili “Vintage”/Razorock Teck II

with 2 comments

This Baili has the same head as the one I used yesterday; only the handle differs, and on the whole, I prefer yesterday’s handle, though I can see how this longer handle might be useful for shaving legs. Based on a poll from some years ago, I would imagine that about 20% of users would find the smooth handle slippery when wet, but most will not. As with yesterday’s Baili, the handle has a good feel and good heft.

Prep was with the Fine Classic and Tallow + Steel’s Grog shaving soap, which has a fragrance I like and makes an excellent lather. The fragrance starts with bay rum and goes from there. The fragrance notes listed by Tallow + Steel are “West Indies Bay + Key Lime + Labdanum + White Fir + Rosemary + Ylang Ylang.”

Three easy passes produced a smooth result, to which I applied a splash of Grog aftershave.

Written by LeisureGuy

3 May 2017 at 9:00 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I preferred the shorter/ knurled handle as well. Baili also makes another three-piece razor that has a true Tech style head. It is not quite as refined, but still shaves wonderfully. I believe that it is the BT131.

    Ryan

    3 May 2017 at 9:51 am

  2. I am impressed with the Baili razors I have tried and readily believe that their other DE models will prove good. Another good option for DE newbies (not that the razors are not also excellent for experienced DE shavers). The Victor/DE1 is my favorite, FWIW.

    LeisureGuy

    3 May 2017 at 9:58 am


Leave a Reply

