Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

A sandalwoood shave, with AOS, TOBS, Dorco, and Kent

with 4 comments

Will of Barrister & Mann mentioned in an email that the Art of Shaving Sandalwood was an excellent soap, made by Valobra. The soap is discontinued, but it NOS pucks are easy to find on eBay and not terribly expensive, so I had to try it.

The tub shown is the $1.75 model from Maggard Razors, and the puck was pretty easy to mash into the tub even though the puck is a slightly larger diameter. Here’s a view of how the puck looks in its new home, and you can see where the edges took a bit of a hit:

The Kent Infinity synthetic easily created a very nice lather indeed, and the fragrance is really wonderful. I’m very pleased I got this.

I used my Dorco PL602, and I have to say that this is one of my favorite razors. So long as the blade is sharp, it provides an extremely comfortable and extremely efficient shave, easily producing a BBS result with no problems at all. Given the low price, I think every shaver should have one of these.

A splash of TOBS Sandalwood aftershave (and near the end of the bottle) and the day is well launched.

Thanks, Will, for the recommendation. It is indeed a fine soap.

Written by LeisureGuy

19 May 2017 at 8:40 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There you go again, Michael. Enabling me to purchase more shaving supplies. LOL. I found the puck for $14.24 on Ebay, and I already have the black empty container from a Maggard’s Razors order where I needed it to achieve free shipping. I’ve been very impressed with Art of Shaving Unscented Shaving Cream, but the price is painful. OTOH, this puck is bargain priced, and I look forward to trying it.

    Ryan

    21 May 2017 at 7:19 am

  2. I’ll be interested to hear what you think. It seems quite good to me.

    LeisureGuy

    21 May 2017 at 7:29 am

  3. I tried the soap today. It comes nicely packaged in a faux velvet pouch, and wrapped in cellophane. I thought that it would be the shape of a hockey puck, but it is rounded on the bottom. Like your experience, it was a little rough smashing it into the Maggard Razor’s container, as some bits broke off. However, it lathered wonderfully with Distilled Water. I also used a Kent Infinity Sylvertex Brush. I was really impressed with the lather it generated. The Sandalwood scent was just right, and not overpowering like my experience with Proraso Sandalwood products. I used my Ikon Shavecraft Short-Comb with a Gillette SharpEdge (Yellow Pack) which was just the right compromise between mild and efficient.

    The soap has a thick lather, and is a top performer right up there with my current favorite, B&M Latha Unscented. I have tried Valobra Almond Shaving Cream Soap which is more of a “Croap,” and I was not overly impressed with it. Do you know if Valobra currently makes anything similar to this even in another scent?

    Ryan

    25 May 2017 at 6:44 pm

  4. There’s the Valobra shave stick, which is excellent and much the consistency of the AOS Sandalwood. Different fragrance, but pleasant.

    LeisureGuy

    25 May 2017 at 7:15 pm


Leave a Reply

