Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Omega 11047, Valobra shave stick, iKon 101, and Lenthéric Tweed

with 11 comments

I see the focus is not very good this morning, and I apologize for that. Autofocus, like autocorrect, has its ups and downs.

I wet the knot of the Omega 11047 (a mix of boar and badger) well before I showered. After showering, I washed my stubble at the sink using MR GLO, rinsed partially with a splash, and rubbed the Valobra shave stick against the grain over my entire beard. I rewet the brush under hot water to warm it up, gave it a couple of shakes, then brushed the stubble briskly and the lather arose. Despite the diminutive size of the Omega brush, it held plenty of lather for the entire shave.

Three passes with the iKon 101 left my face completely smooth and with no problems. The blade in it now is newish, so the shave was highly satisfying: very smooth action. FWIW, I find the 101 noticeably more comfortable than the iKon Short Comb—and a lot more interesting-looking as well.

A small splash of Lenthéric Tweed EDT as an aftershave, and the weekend is underway.

Written by LeisureGuy

27 May 2017 at 8:22 am

Posted in Shaving

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. After two and a half years in still using a merkur 34c. Love it. But what would be a good intermediate step up?

    KIA

    27 May 2017 at 11:08 am

  2. Take a look at this post. I provide a number of suggestions at various price levels, and all the suggested razors are top-notch in comfort and efficiency except for the Baili TTO, which I included only because some insist on a TTO design and it’s not bad: good comfort and pretty good efficiency (though not so good as the other razors mentioned).

    But what I would recommend at this point is that you try a slant, and specifically I’d recommend the iKon Shavecraft 102 or the iKon Shavecraft X3. Both are excellent, though I prefer the 102.

    LeisureGuy

    27 May 2017 at 11:12 am

  3. You are the SC 101’s biggest booster!

    Larry

    27 May 2017 at 12:10 pm

  4. I agree with the 102. After using a 34C for years I tried the 102 and did not go back to the 34C, passed it on to one of the boys. I was not real pleased with the X3 but will get it out for another go.

    Mike

    27 May 2017 at 1:20 pm

  5. @ Mike: It may be that for you the X3 will require a different brand of blade than the 102. Just a thought.

    LeisureGuy

    27 May 2017 at 1:27 pm

  6. I have thought about that. I have used Lab Blue, Astra and Gillette 7o’clock. What do you prefer in the X3?

    Mike

    27 May 2017 at 1:44 pm

  7. For me the Lab Blue works, but—YMMV. Try a Derby Extra just out of curiosity. And perhaps a Gillette Silver Blue and a Polsilver. Off the top of my head.

    LeisureGuy

    27 May 2017 at 1:59 pm

  8. I have just ordered a 5 pack of each. Even if they do not improve the satisfaction of the X3 it will be interesting to see what I think of them in the 102. I have been in a bit of a blade rut for the last couple of years so I look forward to a change.

    Mike

    28 May 2017 at 11:14 am

  9. It’s always interesting to see how a different brand works, though it often takes me several shaves to really settle in on the differences. It’s also true that one’s perception of a blade can change as his technique evolves. Gillette 7 O’Clock SharpEdge was at first not a good brand for me, but now it’s a favorite.

    LeisureGuy

    28 May 2017 at 11:38 am

  10. It is interesting how equipment falls in and out of favor over time. After reading your book a few years ago I started using Treet, for a long time, today I don’t care for them at all. I used Merkur for years, before the internet brought us all of the options we have today. I put a bid in on the brush you just put on ebay, looks like my kind of brush.

    Mike

    28 May 2017 at 12:53 pm

  11. It’s quite a nice brush, in fact. Oddly, H.L. Thäter is not sold much in the U.S. for some reason, but Bullgoose Shaving had some a while back. I tried one and liked it enough to buy a second.

    And thanks for reading the book. Hope it was helpful.

    LeisureGuy

    28 May 2017 at 1:31 pm


Leave a Reply

