Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

The wonderful Fatip Testina Gentile with Eufros Vetiver de Haiti

with 4 comments

The Maggard 22mm synthetic is now my standard recommendation for a first brush: $10 and a wonderful brush. Today it made a great lather from Jabonman’s Eufros Vetiver de Haiti, a fine soap with a very nice vetiver fragrance.

I continue to admire Fatip’s Testina Gentile razor. At the link is the best price and most complete selection I’ve found. (I have three—chrome, gunmetal, and gold—set aside for my son’s three young boys once they are in their teens (a little over a decade from now).) Since you don’t pay the tax on orders to the US, the razor’s price is US$22, which is not bad at all for plated brass razor that performs so well and feels so good.

Three passes, BBS result with no problems, and a splash of Guerlain Vetiver, and a new month begins.

Written by LeisureGuy

1 June 2017 at 8:47 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think even at that price, it is an heirloom quality razor that will be a wonderful gift. To me the Gentile is very reminiscent of vintage Gillettes with the brass construction, and the art deco lines.

    Ryan

    1 June 2017 at 9:39 am

  2. That razor delivers as close a shave as any I have ever used. Fell right into my rotation!

    Larry

    1 June 2017 at 9:57 am

  3. I recently bought a Gentile and I agree, it’s an excellent razor and a good value too.

    mantic59mantic59

    1 June 2017 at 1:24 pm

  4. @ Ryan: I agree on the looks. As you see at the link, the same head is available on a different style of handle (and wood to boot), but I like the look of this.

    @ Larry: The razor is so comfortable that its efficiency surprised me, though one does occasionally find the combination. Definitely a keeper.

    @ Mantic: Yeah, the $22 price is incredibly reasonable for a razor of this quality (in construction, feel, performance, and IMO aesthetics).

    LeisureGuy

    3 June 2017 at 2:51 pm


Leave a Reply

