Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

A shave of favorites: the Vie-Long brush I like best, Tallow+Steel Grog, and the Dorco PL602

with 3 comments

Of the various Vie-Long horsehair brushes I’ve tried, this one is my favorite, and I believe it’s still available. It made a very nice lather with my favorite of the Tallow+Steel fragrances, Grog. I thought I would like Dark better—and I do like Dark a lot—but Grog is particularly entrancing to me. (Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem to be available any longer.)

I noticed that as I loaded the brush I automatically added water a couple of times. I no longer have to think about it. I can just observe how the brush is loading and see directly now that it needs a bit more water to do the job, and I did that twice, resulting in a very fine lather indeed.

The Dorco PL602 is such a fine razor, in terms of comfort and efficiency, that I think everyone should try it. Even when I know it will give an excellent shave, it still surprises me by just how excellent it is. I need to buy a few more to have on hand for gifts.

Three passes, BBS result, no nicks, and a good splash of Grog to finish the shave.

I can’t believe how long I shaved with cartridge razor and canned foam, hating it. Ignorance is a terrible burden and a devastating curse.

Written by LeisureGuy

14 June 2017 at 8:56 am

Posted in Shaving

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You aren’t in cohoots with the ebay Futur-clone scammer, are you? I thought I was going to get four of those, and now I’m only getting two of these. 🙂

    Thad Launderville

    15 June 2017 at 1:21 pm

  2. Nope, and in fact I don’t know anything about the scam of which you speak. I sold my Futur (too awkward and heavy) and so haven’t look at the clone. But I did just order four more Dorco PL602s, for a total (including shipping) of $15, which is $3.75 per razor. That’s an amazing price for a razor this good.

    Note that the PL602 is adjustable, using the same method as the Merkur Progress: tighten all the way, then back off a fraction of a turn to increase aggressiveness.

    I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it once you’ve tried it. Do a little blade exploration to find a best brand for you for that razor.

    LeisureGuy

    15 June 2017 at 1:29 pm

  3. I am really looking forward to it.

    Thad Launderville

    15 June 2017 at 1:53 pm


Leave a Reply

