Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Whipped Dog silvertip, Phoenix Artisan Solstice, iKon 102, and K.C. Atwood aftershave

with 4 comments

I like this little silvertip from Whipped Dog a lot: a good size, a good resiliency, and a comfortable handle. Solstice was the obvious choice for today’s shaving soap, and it produced an extremely good lather. Phoenix Artisan and Crown King shaving soaps always leave my skin feeling very soft and nice, and they all lather well. I like the fragrance quite a bit as well: “Sage, Sweetgrass, Cedar, Rose Absolute, and Benzoin Resin.” The ingredients:

Saponified Stearic Acid, Aqua (Water), Saponified Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Saponified Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Saponified Garcinia Indica (Kokum) Seed Butter, Saponified Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Saponified Persea Americana (Avocado) Oil, Sodium Lactate, Glycerin, Fragrance

Well-prepped, I picked up the 102 and set to work. I got one odd little nick on the first pass—bad angle, I’m sure—but the rest of the shave went very well, and My Nik Is Sealed totally closed it off with no problem when I finished the shave.

A good splash of Prospector Co.’s K.C. Atwood aftershave, and I’m ready for a long day. Its ingredients:

Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Distillate, Organic Aloe (Barbadensis), Distilled Water, PolySorbate 20, Vegetable Glycerin, Citrus Sinensis (Grapefruit), Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree), Citrus Sinensis (Sweet Orange), Coriandrum Sativum (Coriander Seed) Oil, Juniperus Communis (Juniper Berry), Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavendar), Vitis Vinifera (Grapefruit Seed Extract), Phenoxyethanol.

 

Written by LeisureGuy

21 June 2017 at 8:02 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you ever checked to see if all of the Phoenix soaps pretty much the same except for the fragrance?

    Regarding the X3, a few weeks ago I mentioned that I did not particularly care for the X3, it did not feel is measured up to the 102. You suggested try Derby Extra, Gillette Silver Blue and PolSilver. They resulted in much more satisfaction but I still favor the 102 and will only be using the X3 once in awhile. I will definitely put the Derby and PolSilver in rotation, I had forgotten about them? As always thank you for the suggestion.

    Mike

    22 June 2017 at 2:42 pm

  2. Happy to help.

    I haven’t checked the various formulations of the Phoenix Artisan soaps. I do know that artisan soaps tend to evolve over time: the Dr. Jon soap I used this morning is now available in Vol 2 with several new ingrediens.

    LeisureGuy

    22 June 2017 at 2:52 pm

  3. I know Phoenix looks different than is did when it was HTGM. But I have always enjoyed them.

    Mike

    22 June 2017 at 3:01 pm

  4. I still have/had some of the HTGAM soaps. I think his current soaps are better in terms of how they make my skin feel.

    LeisureGuy

    22 June 2017 at 3:23 pm


Leave a Reply

