Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Late start, fine shave: Dr. Jon’s Savannah Sunrise, WSP Prince, and RazoRock Mentor

with 4 comments

Up a long time last night, pondering things, so slept in this morning. We’ve been having sunny days, fairly warm (70ºF, and I know people in the Southwest would not consider that warm, facing as they are 127ªF in Phoenix), and so Savannah Sunrise hit the spot. I particularly like the honeysuckle note (childhood memories), but the entire combination is wonderful: Orange Blossom, Peach, Gardenia, Jasmine and Honeysuckle. Perhaps I should get a larger tin, especially given that it is now his “Vol. 2” formulation:

Stearic Acid, Water, Castor Oil, Potassium Hydroxide, Shea Butter, Mango Butter, Babassu Oil, Essential/Fragrance Oils, Sodium Hydroxide, Sunflower Oil, Avocado Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Meadowfoam Oil, Aloe Vera, Soy Wax, Slippery Elm Bark, Citric Acid.

All Dr. Jon’s products are vegan.

I’m not sure that this razor is the RazoRock Mentor, but I believe it is. It’s on the Maggard V3A side of the Edwin Jagger: more efficient than the EJ, more comfortable than the V3A. Not a bad razor at all.

Any fountain pen fans reading this? I just found my Yard-O-Led Imperial Dragon, a lovely fountain pen. Shedding the collection will be difficult.

Written by LeisureGuy

22 June 2017 at 3:38 pm

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I did perk up when I saw your fountain pen post this week; I like those silver Yard-o-Leds. Anticipating the collection-becoming-burden you mentioned, I’ve stopped my fountain pen purchases for now. ….And yet. Still interested, and will be watching as you unload yours.

    middlesmith

    22 June 2017 at 4:37 pm

  2. I’m talking with a dealer in anticipation of selling the entire collection, but if there’s something you’re particularly interested in (and the Yard-O-Led Imperial Dragon is wonderful), let me know and I can provide better photos and details. You can get an idea of the collection here: http://imgur.com/a/6e35b

    LeisureGuy

    22 June 2017 at 5:03 pm

  3. Oh my what a lot of beauties! The Victorian Yard-o-Leds, the Omases, and that silver-trimmed Meisterstück all jump out as pens that I’ve wanted since I began collecting — and of course as pens I really can’t afford. (Especially since I’m trying to maintain restraint, and slim down my own collection, and generally recover from some recent fountain pen profligacy.)

    Whew, what a gorgeous, refined collection, though. I guess selling through a dealer is really the only way.

    middlesmith

    22 June 2017 at 6:37 pm

  4. wow, all those lovely pens. and I thought my grand total of four was too many! LOL

    Mark

    24 June 2017 at 7:01 am


Leave a Reply

