Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

WSP Monarch, Barrister & Mann Lavanille, and the RazoRock Stealth

with 8 comments

Lavanille has an interesting fragrance and a disconcertingly tan lather. I am so accustomed to lather being white and the tan this morning was a bit of a shock, but it worked fine and smelled great. I used the WSP Monarch brush and brushed vigorously to go for a whiter lather, but it remained tan.

RazoRock’s Stealth slant was based on/inspired by the vintage Merkur white bakelite slant, and IMO it does a somewhat better job: more comfort, equal efficiency. Three passes to an easy BBS with no difficulties.

A splash of the Lavanille aftershave, and the morning beings and the week is launched. (No launch on Sunday because no shave that day.)

Written by LeisureGuy

26 June 2017 at 8:54 am

Posted in Shaving

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Received an email from West Coast Shaving this morning that they have launched there own brand of soaps and aftershaves. Check it out and see what you think.

    Mike

    26 June 2017 at 10:47 am

  2. Interesting. Any idea who will be making their soaps?

    LeisureGuy

    26 June 2017 at 10:56 am

  3. No idea but I will say, for me, West Coast is a top notch company. I would guess they know what they are doing. I will review the options again and give a soap and aftershave a try.

    Mike

    26 June 2017 at 12:01 pm

  4. I also am a WCS customer, and I certainly did not intend to cast any shade on them as a company. It’s just that it is typically if you run a business like West Coast Shaving (or QED) you contract out your soapmaking to an expert soapmaker. My question was intended only to discover the maker, if that is known. I certainly did not intend in any way to denigrate the company. I was merely curious to learn who makes their soaps.

    I apologize if my question seemed to call into question their quality as a company or their knowledge of the business. That was not my intent in the least.

    LeisureGuy

    26 June 2017 at 12:11 pm

  5. I did not think for a moment that were casting any shade on them, it was the best response to the question I could come up with!

    Mike

    26 June 2017 at 3:01 pm

  6. Ah, thanks. I thought perhaps your praise for WCS was meant as a defense, as though my question impugned them in some way. I get it now, and thanks for clearing it up.

    I’ll be interested to hear. I understand that Valobra made the Art of Shaving Sandalwood shaving soap that I got. I suspect, though, that WCS will use a domestic artisan.

    LeisureGuy

    26 June 2017 at 3:25 pm

  7. Michael, have you ever tried a hybrid/mix of iKon X3 Slant with iKon DLC Slant? I am told the base plates and caps are interchangeable. I only own the DLC.

    Shawn

    27 June 2017 at 6:20 am

  8. No, I haven’t. Oddly, I find the X3 more comfortable and less nick-prone that the stainless iKon slant, whether the uncoated or the DLC. I’ll experiment.

    LeisureGuy

    27 June 2017 at 8:41 am


Leave a Reply

