Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Rooney Finest, RazoRock Vi’Zeppino, and the iKon 101 (with new blade)

with 4 comments

Zi’Peppino has for me a fine fragrance, and there’s nothing wrong with the lather, which the Rooney Finest created with ease. I put a new blade in the 101 after a less than stellar shave, and it’s back now to stellar again: smooth and easy shaving with no nicks and a BBS result. A good splash of Vi’ Zeppino aftershave brings the entire satisfying albeit brief ritual to a pleasant conclusion.

Written by LeisureGuy

11 July 2017 at 8:42 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like Gillette SharpEdge Yellows in the 101.

    Ryan

    11 July 2017 at 9:48 am

  2. They work well for me, too.

    LeisureGuy

    11 July 2017 at 9:54 am

  3. I have trouble understanding the concept of waiting until you get a less than stellar shave before replacing a blade. My goal is to always get a stellar shave so I replace the blade after two uses.
    Blades are so cheap it makes no sense to me risk a bad shave to save a few cents. Certainly no one wants to bin a perfectly good blade, but I will take that over the alternative.

    Stephen Gooze

    11 July 2017 at 1:55 pm

  4. I think I can help here. You perhaps have a small number of razors you use regularly, perhaps 4 or 5. I have 19 in current rotation. That means it is impossible (for me, at any rate) to track the number of shaves per blade. I do know that I can get 4-6 good shaves from a blade, depending on brand (and, come to think of it, several different brands are distributed across the 19 razors, which would be another thing to keep track of).

    But I have advised that if you find a blade does not give a satisfactory shave on the 6th shave, then change the blade after the 5th shave. And if when you use the new blade, the shave seems noticeably better, then change the blade after the 4th shave. The idea, you’ll agree, is that if your shave is noticeably better after a blade change, you used the old blade too long.

    But, obviously, that method is for those who have the luxury of having just 1 or 2 razors. As the number of razors increases, then keeping track of shaves per blade for each razor is difficult. (I recall one novice who had a Fat Boy and was delighted to discover the shave-counter at the top so he could keep track of how many shaves he had done ont he current blade. And it sort of works: as the blade gets duller, razor gets more aggressive. 🙂 )

    I hope this helps with the trouble you have in understanding the idea. I suppose I could go for one shave per blade and just replace the blade after each shave, but some brands seem to do better on the second shave, and anyway it would be too much monkeying around for me, not to mention the waste. (I agree: blades are cheap. But I still dislike throwing away something that’s still good.)

    LeisureGuy

    11 July 2017 at 2:19 pm


Leave a Reply

