Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Omega baby boar brush with Leviathan and the Maggard V2 open-comb

with 6 comments

The Omega baby boar did indeed hold enough lather for three passes, but barely. I am beginning to view this as a novelty brush, not a working brush. (The Wee Scot, for all its diminutive size, is a working brush.)

The lather was quite good in both fragrance and consistency, and my Maggard V2OC on the MR7 hand did an excellent job. I think the RazoRock Old Type has a slight edge in feel and performance, but both open combs are excellent.

A good splash of Leviathan on my now-smooth face, and we are on the brink of the weekend.

Written by LeisureGuy

14 July 2017 at 8:27 am

Posted in Shaving

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I continue to be amazed how good the Wee Scott works!

    Mike

    14 July 2017 at 10:56 am

  2. It’s a great little brush.

    LeisureGuy

    14 July 2017 at 11:02 am

  3. I heard that the quality decreased since made by Vulfix. Mine is from the old stock and works very well.

    reynald p

    14 July 2017 at 1:06 pm

  4. I was afraid that might happen. Back in the days before, Simpson had a much stronger reputation than Vulfix, and a Simpson family member commented in the blog that the Wee Scot is the only brush that bears Alexander Simpson’s signature because it was considered a “journeyman’s test” of brush-making, a kind of ultimate test. If it was such, and things have changed, I can imagine that they are not what they once were.

    LeisureGuy

    14 July 2017 at 2:36 pm

  5. I have one made by Vulfix and don’t care for it. I think of it as you do your Baby Boar. I have always assumed, though, that my difficulties with getting enough soap in it has been due to poor loading technique. Even so, I’ve been perplexed with the praises you have long sung regarding how much soap yours can hold.

    George P.

    15 July 2017 at 4:05 am

  6. I’m sort of tempted to get a current Wee Scot. I would bet that the problem is that the badger hair used is not fine enough. The Simpson Wee Scot used incredibly fine hairs, with the result that the knot altogether presented an enormous wettable surface (the sum of the surface areas of each hair), and that was, I think, the secret of its enormous capacity. I think I should always note that my Wee Scot is pre-Vulfix (as indeed are all my Simpson brushes).

    LeisureGuy

    15 July 2017 at 6:54 am


Leave a Reply

