Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Simpson Duke 3, Tallow + Steel Dark, and the Rockwell R3

with 2 comments

A great shave, simply done. The Simpson Duke 3 Best loaded easily, although with two little driblets of water along the way, making both a satisfying lather and an intriguing fragrance. Three passes with the Rockwell 6S with the R3 baseplate removed every trace of stubble without a single nick, and then a splash of Dark aftershave, this morning with chocolate and coffee fragrance quite noticeable.

I can’t imagine starting the day with canned foam (and I notice that the fragrance of these is seldom mentioned) that I smear on my face using my hand, and then remove it with a multiblade cartridge. That approach lacks satisfaction. Still: different strokes for different folks.

Written by LeisureGuy

18 July 2017 at 9:36 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you heard that there is a chinese clone of the Merkur Futur at a very low price. i received it yesterday and got a great shave. Surprisingly good-looking razor too. Nothing to compare to Rockwell though . And let’s see if the upcoming Rockwell model t will be as good.

    reynald p

    18 July 2017 at 11:38 am

  2. I have heard of the Chinese clone of the Futur, but I didn’t like the Futur all that well. I found it an interesting razor, but bulky and no so comfortable as razors I prefer, though quite efficient. I sold my Futur and probably won’t try the Chinese clone. The conventional razors I most recommend are these.

    LeisureGuy

    18 July 2017 at 1:01 pm


Leave a Reply

