Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Simpson Emperor with LA Shaving Soap, the Edwin Jagger, and Phoenix Artisan Cavendish

with 4 comments

I really like the (pre-Vulfix) Simpson Emperor. This is the no. 2 size, and it did a fine job with LA Shaving Soap Company’s Vanilla, Eucalyptus, and Mint shaving soap: a grand fragrance and a great lather.

The Edwin Jagger I don’t write so much about these days. It was a real breakthrough when it first came out about a decade ago, for most a big step up from the Merkur 34C, the traditional starter razor if you were going to use a brand-new razor rather than a vintage model. In this post, I describe my inadvertent blind comparison of the two, with the Edwin Jagger head the clear winner.

But things change, and more DE razors came onto the market as DE shaving grew in popularity, and the Edwin Jagger, though still quite good, is not quite so comfortable nor quite so efficient as some newer razors. But it is still the same excellent razor it has always been, and I had no trouble at all in getting a really excellent—super-smooth, super-comfortable—shave with mine. (You’ll notice that in the big razor purge I did keep an Edwin Jagger.) This model, with the fluted black-rubber handle, is very nice and provides an excellent grip.

A splash of Phoenix Artisan Cavendish finished the job. This is a very nice aftershave with excellent staying power.

Written by LeisureGuy

19 July 2017 at 10:06 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. At one point I parted with my Merkur 34C: I gave it to a colleague who wanted to try wet shaving. Bur I failed to make a convert. he did not keep at it and gave the razor back to me. I tried it again and wow, i got a great shave and use it more often now. Probably my technique had improved over time. And now my Edwin Jagger does not seem to be that good, It seems to be a little harsh. And I see now why some people still consider the 34C as one of the best razors available.

    reynald p

    19 July 2017 at 11:32 am

  2. There’s no doubt that YMMV exists among razors as well as soaps, blades, etc. And with blades and razors there’s the additional complication that a razor may feel great with one brand of blade and somewhat harsh with another brand, and that will vary by razor. That is, the same brand of blade may feel great in the 34C and harsh in the Edwin Jagger.

    So one thing you might try is some blade exploration with the EJ to see whether a different brand will work better (on the assumption that it’s better to have two razors that work well for you than just one).

    As you know, EJ formerly used the same head design as the 34C—in fact, they bought the heads from Merkur, as did Mühle. So when EJ and Mühle worked together to design a new head, one presumes that the design goal was a better head. For me it worked (and that seems to be true for many), but obviously for some it didn’t: the curse of YMMV. Still, some blade exploration might help.

    One major drawback of the 34C design, IMO, has nothing to do with comfort or efficiency: it’s the two-piece design that precludes swapping handles.

    LeisureGuy

    19 July 2017 at 11:40 am

  3. I used a 34C for years. The I purchased the 102 then X3. Gave the 34C to one of my sons and he is using it everyday.

    Mike

    19 July 2017 at 12:57 pm

  4. I’ve read that the two-piece design the 34C uses gives the razor more strength. We’ve all see photos of EJ razors where the threaded shaft from the cap has broken. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one for a 34C. OTOH, I do like the ability to swap handles. In fact, I somehow have a spare EJ head. Maybe I’ll put it on one of the handles I have.

    LeisureGuy

    19 July 2017 at 1:03 pm


Leave a Reply

