Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Comparing two iKon open-comb razors

with 3 comments

Yesterday I used the older iKon open-comb razor on the left, which uses two studs to align the razor. Today I used the iKon open-comb razor on the right, which uses bars to align the blade and comes with two baseplates: the open-comb on the razor and the bar-guard beside it.

But first, the prep. Meißner Tremonia’s shaving paste is a very nice form of shaving cream: quite firm, though softer than soap, and easily loaded. The Pink Grapefruit is especially nice, and I greatly enjoyed the lather I made today using the Fine Classic synthetic brush.

Today’s open-comb, the one on the right, is noticeably less comfortable than the older open-comb, and the two are equally efficient. I got no nicks, but the razor did not glide so well or feel so good as the other open-comb razor. Possibly that is due to the lather, so I’ll try the open-comb on the right with the same soap that I used for the one on the left, which was a Phoenix Artisan soap with kokum butter.

A splash of Foris No. 89, and the day gets off to a late start.

Written by LeisureGuy

26 July 2017 at 11:14 am

Posted in Shaving

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The one on the left looks a little bit like the Shavecraft Short Comb.

    Ryan

    26 July 2017 at 4:54 pm

  2. You know, it is. I recall now that I put the Kronos handle on it. Vintage iKon be damned!

    So maybe the other one is older. It certainly wasn’t as comfortable, but I already have on deck another Phoenix Artisan shaving soap, though not his Crown King line.
    And come to think of it, an older iKon would be stainless steel. What was I thinking?

    LeisureGuy

    26 July 2017 at 5:25 pm

  3. The one on the right looks the same as my Deluxe B-1 Open Comb that gives a decent shave with a Feather Blade due to it being on the mild side. Like you, I prefer the Shavecraft which was a lot less expensive. I use Gillette SharpEdge Yellows in the Shavecraft Short Comb.

    Ryan

    27 July 2017 at 9:54 am


Leave a Reply

