Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Lenthéric and the Gillette 1940’s Aristocrat (with a Gillette 7 O’Clock SharpEdge blade)

with 4 comments

I really like my Lenthéric vintage shaving soap, and the WSP Prince easily produced a very creamy and fragrant lather. This soap, which I’m told was likely made by Valobra back in the day, seems to produce a particularly nice lather.

Yesterday I used an Astra Keramik Platinum blade in this razor, and though it was comfortable, it felt too comfortable: gliding over my stubble in the first pass as though it were not engaging. And in fact at the end my face was still somewhat rough with stubble, necessitating a fourth pass, ATG with the Rockwell R3, to finish the job.

With a Gillette 7 O’Clock SharpEdge, the story was different. Still extremely comfortable, but I could feel the blade engage the stubble in the first pass, and when I rinsed after the second pass my face was mostly extremely smooth, so the third pass, ATG, was just a cleanup pass, as it should be. A very satisfactory shave, and the Gillette SharpEdge blade will remain in the razor. I think I’ll try the Astra Keramik in the X3 to see how that goes.

A splash of Lenthéric Tweed, and the weekend begins.

Written by LeisureGuy

5 August 2017 at 10:04 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you ever find small ‘tea stains’ on your blades after leaving them in the razor? I do sometimes and worry a little as I think rust->tetanus.

    theseeker

    5 August 2017 at 4:09 pm

  2. I do find tea stains on stainless razors from time to time, not so much on plastic or chrome plate or aluminum. It seems to come from stainless-to-stainless contact, when the blade’s stainless gives up. Gillette Rubie blades are particularly bad. If they razor doesn’t get dirty, I would say tetanus is very unlikely: rust by itself won’t do it, but a rusty nail embedded in dirt is risky: it’s the dirt, not the rust, I think.

    Still, you can just get your tetanus booster if it is something that worries you.

    LeisureGuy

    5 August 2017 at 4:27 pm

  3. You are correct tetanus bacteria are killed by oxygen, (Obligate anaerobes). Oxidizing metal is not a great substrate for them. The spores in the dirt are dangerous source of infection.

    Larry

    6 August 2017 at 12:53 pm

  4. Thank you both for putting my mind at ease.

    theseeker

    7 August 2017 at 1:36 am


Leave a Reply

