Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Phoenix Artisan Honeysuckle and the 102

with 2 comments

I like Phoenix Artisan’s Honeysuckle shaving soap so much I bought the matching aftershave. Using my little Whipped Dog silvertip badger brush (knot set at standard depth), I greatly enjoyed the lathering, and not just for the fragrance: the lather itself is of high quality. Use just a damp brush.

The 102 remains unmatched: three easy, smooth, carefree passes left my face baby smooth. A good splash of the Honeysuckle aftershave and I’m ready for a late-summer day.

I very much like “Honeysuckle Rose,” a song by Fats Waller and Andy Razaf, and I’m curious whether a honeysuckle + rose fragrance would work in a shaving soap. If so, it’s theme song is ready:

Written by LeisureGuy

8 August 2017 at 9:41 am

Posted in Jazz, Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Honeysuckle is one of my favorite scents in all of nature, but none of the soaps or splashes I’ve used seems true to the original. Is the Phoenix pretty close to actual honeysuckle?

    I’d have to guess that, given the right proportion and note balance, a honeysuckle rose scent would be great — and I don’t even like rose.

    middlesmith

    8 August 2017 at 2:36 pm

  2. The soap seems closer than the aftershave. It’s been years since I’ve smelled actual honeysuckle, but the fragrance of the soap brought it back, so it’s at least in the neighborhood of the right smell.

    LeisureGuy

    8 August 2017 at 2:41 pm


Leave a Reply

